## **Texas Chefs Association**

# **General Session Meeting**

August 8, 2022

8:00 am

Choctaw Casino - Durant, OK



#### I. Administrative

a. Call to Order: President Len Pawelek, CCE called the General Session to order at 8:12 am.

**b.** Invocation: Len Pawelek, CEC performed the invocation.

**c. Roll Call, Sign In & Quorum:** Chairman Kelly Cook, CEC, AAC confirmed the presence of a quorum. Those in attendance were:

Jesse AdamesTom McGrathJennifer Adams, CC, CPCKortney McMillianLauren AlemanSergio Meraz

Addison Allen Caitlin Miorin

Kevin Artman Patrick Mitchell, CEC, AAC

Jason Avelson, CCC, CCE

Matthew Axtell, CEC

William Mosley
Christopher Belanger

Rick Neal, CEC

Michelle Blake

Jesus Olivares

John Bogue

Alejandra Padron

Sam Boisjoly Rajeeve Patgaonkar, CEC, AAC, HGT

Sam Brewster Dieter Paul

Maggie Bristow

Joanna Bryant, CCC, CCE

Bill Bush

Len Pawelek, CEC

Anthony Petrecca

Rebekah Pool

Kelly Cook, CEC, AAC

Austin Cortez

Jeff Potts

Tyler Ramey

Marka Dempsey Morris Salerno, HAAC Steve DeShazo, CEC, FMP MaryJane Sampson

Maggie Evans Michael Schuster
Annie Greenslade Michael Scott, CEC, AAC

Robert Hale Michael Smith, CEC, CEPC, CCA, WCEC

Phillip Harris Andrew Snyder

Santiago Hernandez

Alison Hodges, CC, CPC

Devan Hoelscher

Carallina Taylor

Carallina Taylor

Carol Irwin Caroline Taylor

Richie Jones Brett Keckeisen Carrie Kellev Michael Kirchman Tobie Kvale

Larry Matson, CEC, CCE, AAC

Israel Villanueva, MS, CC, CEC

Katrina Warner Sabin Warrick **Rusty Weatherly** Julie Wilkinson

- d. Sergeant at Arms: Morris Salerno, HAAC was appointed as Sergeant at Arms.
- e. Review of Minutes: President Pawelek, CEC referenced the minutes from the 2021 General Session. Patrick Mitchell, CEC, AAC presented a motion to approve the meeting minutes as presented. The motion was seconded by Chris Belanger and approved by the membership.
- f. Agenda Approval: Carol Irwin presented a motion to approve the 2022 General Session meeting agenda as presented. The motion was seconded by Caroline Taylor and approved by the membership.

### II. Report of the Officers

- a. Chairman of the Board: Kelly Cook, CEC reported no grievances and expressed his pleasure in serving as Chairman of the Board of the Texas Chefs Association.
- b. President: President Pawelek welcomed everyone to the State Convention and acknowledge the attendance of ACF National President, Kimberly Brock Brown, CEPC, CCA, AAC and ACF Central Region Vice President, Rajeeve Patgaonkar, CEC, AAC, HGT. He called forward chefs Joanna Bryant and Rusty Weatherly and presented them with knives containing the TCA Convention "Crossing Boarders" logo. President Pawelek referenced the recent ACF National Convention in Las Vegas, NV. He described the pleasure of walking into a room full of Chefs and the excitement to see such great representation from Texas Chefs. Pawelek complimented those who competed, including Chef Rick Neal, CEC for ACF National Chef of the Year, the Grayson College Student Culinary Team and Sergio Meraz, who competed for National Student Chef of the Year. Chef Pawelek addressed some compliance issues that were brought to his attention by the ACF, regarding the use of the ACF/TCA logo as it relates to the TCA's membership structure. Pawelek stated that the issues have been resolved and stressed the importance of communicating member benefits for ACF/TCA "dual" members versus TCA-only members. In conclusion, Pawelek recognized Chefs in the room who had been inspirations over the years and he encouraged the membership to get involved, support their local Chapters, hold each other accountable and mentor others.
- c. 1st Vice President: Chef Mark Schneider, CEC, AAC was absent due to participation at an international competition.
- d. 2<sup>nd</sup> Vice President: Rick Neal, CEC thanked Joanna Bryant, Rusty Weatherly and the Red River Chapter for hosting the State Convention. He expressed gratitude for the opportunity to serve as 2<sup>nd</sup> Vice President and for the relationships he's built. He concluded by expressing excitement to welcoming everyone to East Texas for the 2023 State Convention.

**e. Secretary/Treasurer:** Larry Matson, CEC, CCE, AAC stated that the association is financially stable. Matson addressed the balance sheet and restricted accounts, which had balances as follows:

Bernard Urban & Patrick Mitchell, CEC, AAC Competition Fund	\$9,968.00
Certification Reimbursement	\$5,000.00
Chef Relief	\$46,212.27
Jack Bretzke Education Fund	\$15,000.00
State Convention Scholarship	\$4,726.00
Willy Rossel Marketing Fuds	\$28,409.61

Matson continued to address the income statement activity.

#### III. Nominations & Elections

- a. State Officer Elections: President Cook announced two uncontested candidates for the offices of 2<sup>nd</sup> Vice President and Secretary/Treasurer. By acclamation, Dean Sprague was approved as 2<sup>nd</sup> Vice President of the Texas Chefs Association for the 2022 2024 term. By acclamation, Larry Matson, CEC, AAC was approved as Secretary/Treasurer of the Texas Chefs Association for the 2022 2024 term.
- **b.** Ratify Chapter Directors: The following new Chapter Directors were ratified:

Austin Chapter – Robert Hale

Brazos Valley Chapter – Mark Torres

Chefs of the Coastal Bend Chapter - Michael Smith, CEC, CEPC, CCA, WCEC

Concho Valley Chapter – Chad Lowry

Dallas Chapter – Cassondra Armstrong

East Texas Chapter – Anthony Petrecca

Fort Worth Chapter – Caroline Taylor

Golden Triangle Chapter - Charles Duit, CEC, AAC

Heart of Texas Chapter – Reannon Ruark

Houston Chapter – Paul Newman

Red River Chapter – Rusty Weatherly

Rio Grande Valley Chapter - Omar Duran

San Antonio Chapter – Sam Boisjoly

Chris Belanger presented a motion to ratify the Chapter Directors. The motion was seconded by Kelly Cook, CEC, AAC and approved by the membership.

**c. Site of Future Conventions:** President Pawelek announced the following hosts for future TCA Convention:

2023 - East Texas Chapter

2024 - Austin/San Antonio Chapters

**IV. Closing & Adjournment:** In closing, President Pawelek thanked the Red River Chapter for hosting the State Convention and thanked the TCA membership for attending. Anthony Petrecca presented a motion to adjourn, which was seconded by Dean Sprague, CEC. The General Session was adjourned at 8:45 am.